OR rules on MPS

Hello, I’m a newbie on MPS platform. I am wondering on how to create OR-rules on nodes. In other words, I see how I can easily create a set of children A-B-C to represent a general language rule, but what if a node is defined as A-(B1 or B2)-C ? Have i necessarely to create a superclass of B1 and B2 ? How to create an editor for them?
Sorry for the very basic question, but I’m not familiar yet with the environment.

How is A-(B1 or B2)-C different from A-B1-B2-C?

B1 and B2 are alternatives. They can’t be present at the same time. How I define this in MPS? Creating two different concepts ?

@alessio.stalla I think the “-” is meant as a separator here, not as a minus.

Yes, just to say that A, B and C are sequential

Hi,

If what you want to have is more than one concept in a determined place, you create a superconcept, probably abstract and/or interface and then create the sub concepts that you need.

1 Like

To reply to the original question. Yes, you would typically create a superconcept or a super interface for B1 and B2, called e.g. B. And add this super concept/interface B should be part of the contaning concept. So you get A-B-C.

2 Likes

Ah, OK, I see. Yes I’d write a super concept/interface B and use that.

1 Like

Any reference to “black-magic” of layout symbols ? I can’t find them anywhere in jetbrains MPS site… :worried:

Have you readed the Editor—MPS ?

Are you seeing the extra info that appears in the Inspector Window Tool?

1 Like

Bad engineer’s habit to try before knowing :wink:
Thanks…

2 Likes

I’m the same :slight_smile:

Hi all, I’m reading doc before trying stuffs, but the tool is so powerful that learning curve is enough slow. I’m trying to understand how to say to the layout of a superconcept that it has to pick layout of sub-concepts… for instance: I declared a VarExpr and a NumExpr as sub-concepts of AtomicExpr.