Hi, I'm Igor Dejanović

Hi all,

My name is Igor Dejanović. I work as an associate professor at the University of Novi Sad where I do research and teaching in software engineering, mostly focused on language engineering (whenever possible). Several years ago I started a course on DSLs at the master programme in Software Engineering; my small contribution to the spreading of the DSL approach. :slight_smile:

I also do a freelance work based around open-source software I’ve developed in the last 10 years. I’m initial author and maintainer of textX, a meta-language in Python inspired by Xtext which I started working on as I was impressed by Xtext (been using it from the early days while it still was part of OpenArchitectureware :slight_smile: ) but wanted something mode lightweight.

Starting from MDE/MDD in the early days of my career (mostly EMF & friends) I gradually moved to textual DSLs (Xtext & Spoofax) and today I mostly work with parsers and textual DSLs although I do believe that a concrete syntax is important and should be aligned with the domain. It’s just that I got deeply involved with parsing and now feel safe among textual languages :wink:

I look at MDE/MDSD/DSL/DSML… as a slightly different views of the same basic idea. I don’t make difference between program and model, except maybe that the model might not be complete (executable).

I admire MPS for its ahead of time advanced ideas but never got a chance to do some work with it and learn the tool.

In the recent years, besides teaching, I kept myself busy working on parser libraries, DSLs in the domain of Power Electronic, parsing and analysis of law documents, parsing/analyzing and transformation of legacy software systems.