Use case for an island grammar?

Good afternoon,
I’m pretty new to writing parsers (except for a few semesters in college long ago). A colleague and I are working on a transpiler to convert a subset of the SAS language to Python.
We have put together a parser that works nicely for the use case we have been looking at. Unfortunately, I am having trouble getting the data I need in the right order to generate the Python code for SAS data steps.
I’m considering making data steps an island grammar, so I can get a more friendly parse tree out of them. Am I barking up the wrong tree?

Hi David, when I read this I thought “what a coincidence”, then I understood from your other message that we are working on the same project :slight_smile:

In general I would use island grammars where there are two very different languages mixed, with very different semantics and no connection. For example, I typically think of JSP (I am old!) and PHP. But also HTML + JavaScript.

If your problem is the way the information it is organized in the parse tree, we typically solved that problem with follow-up steps.

What we do is to take the parse-tree we get from ANTLR (some people call it also Concrete Syntax Tree or CST) and “polishing it” to get an Abstract Syntax Tree. We typically represent that AST using Kolasu, an open-source library we created. We may then use the AST for different goals and doing all sort of processing we need on it.

In other words our approach is to typically not try to get the parse-tree already in the form that would fit our needs, but to arrive there in steps: the parse-tree will be closer to the syntactic rules and will be written to make parsing easy. To get processing and code generation easy we will design the AST appropriately, and we will have a transformation in between.

Hope this makes sense, but I confess I have limited familiarity with SAS (I am not the one writing that parser), so I could be missing something.