OPC UA DSL Semantic Diff

Thanks for the invitation. I am a researcher who is passionate about applying knowledge and experience in building a machine-centric global village. Let me describe a problem we have in this context related to this group’s interests.

Do we need UANodeSet semantic diff :question:

Executive summary

UANodeSet is a domain-specific language implemented using the XML standard. The syntax of the UANodeSet documents is defined in the OPC 10000-6: OPC Unified Architecture; 2017, Release 1.04.

The schema document is available at http://opcfoundation.org/UA/2011/03/UANodeSet.xsd

The description is covered by the document

Problem

The problem is reported in OPCFoundation/UA-ModelCompiler#75 and the discussion is to be continued here.

Generally speaking, talking about the tracking of the modifications we have the following possibilities:

1. text diff
  2. XML diff
  3. XML semantic dif
  4. XML semantic dif excluding feature that was not widely used , non-critical differences , etc.

Following that my questions are:

1. Do you know a tool that meets the requirement stated in 4?
  2. Do you know implementable rules that can be used to deploy a diff tool according to 4?

The prototyping is conducted on GitHub

1 Like

Does this mean that users should manually write XML directly? Or is the XML generated from some other notation?

1 Like

Thanks, @ftomassetti. In general no - in most cases, it is autogenerated. I try to gather the list of options as an answer in the thread What is Information Model vs Semantic-data. Unfortunately, it is a long story.

Let me only add:

• UANodeSet - manual design is impractical or even impossible, but this document could be used directly by the communication applications, the problem is validation
  • ModelDesign - is more user-friendly but to be used must be compiled to UANodeSet.