LLVM - The Low-Level Virtual Machine

This post is a compilation of two of my prior posts in the Introduction category.
I plan to revise this post as questions and comments, if any, pop up.

I use LLVM myself for a hobbyist compiler. I’m no expert but you are always welcome to ask me if there’s something you are unsure about :slight_smile:

Introduction

LLVM is an acronym for “Low-Level Virtual Machine”, which is a bit of a misnomer in my view as LLVM is most of all a fairly generic compiler back-end. LLVM is built around a low-level intermediate representation (IR) which is aptly named “LLVM IR”. LLVM offers tons of features such as Just-in-Time compilation (JITing) so that you can generate LLVM IR and then have LLVM convert it into executable code, which can be invoked directly from the compiler or tool. LLVM is implemented in C++, but has both C and Python bindings. However, it is my belief that you pretty much need to use the C++ interface if you want to link in LLVM as only the C++ interface seems to be actively maintained and kept up to date as it is the native interface.

Primers

You may want to check out this online book: Mapping High Level Constructs to LLVM IR.

I wrote it some years ago but now it has a new maintainer, Mike Rodler, who has made a great job of converting my old document into an online book. I know that there are some issues with the examples (check out the list of issues on GitHub), but I think they still serve well as an introduction to LLVM IR.

Also, there are a few books about LLVM out there:

1. LLVM Essentials, Sarda et. al, 2015, Packt Publishing.
  2. Getting Started with LLVM Core Libraries, Lopes et. al, 2014, Packt Publishing.
  3. LLVM Cookbook, Pandey et. al, 2015, Packt Publishing.

I must admit that I have not yet read any of these books, but I have listed them in the order I think they should be read.

Layers

There are two layers that you can use when you want to work with LLVM: