đź‘‹ I'm Daniel Gregoire, it's wonderful to be here!

Hi everyone!

I’m a natural language nerd at heart. I really enjoy linguistics and have studied many languages (some only for the enjoyment of experiencing a new grammar). My native language is English; Russian is my strongest second language; and then I’ve studied a host of other European languages as well as Modern Standard Arabic. The latest new language I’ve perused is Esperanto, which has gone on pause while I try to improve my Modern Greek.

As for computer languages, I’ve been working in software for 11+ years, primarily in Clojure since 2013. I’ve always enjoyed exploring new languages of various paradigms, and have found myself coming back to DSL development, micro declarative/data-focused languages, and concatenative languages year after year when tackling different problems.

I’m currently working on what I’m calling a driver-editor, for editing Clojure code in a projectional fashion by issuing commands (rather than supporting in situ edits of the source like MPS). Its UI is currently browser-based, but the graph manipulation code is cross-platform Clojure (currently using its built-in functional zippers) and the intent is to keep it a “static” s-expression editing environment, rather than a live development environment. If I manage to bring it to a point of reasonable completeness, I’ll try to integrate it with existing editor environments as a complementary editing approach.

The other areas I’ve found deeply interesting the last few years have been array-based languages like J and APL, especially with Iverson’s focus on using these tools to teach and explore mathematics. In a similar vein, learning TLA+ has opened my mind to the power of expressing software