Hi, I'm Rob Pulsipher

Hello. My name is Rob Pulsipher. I’m a software developer located in New Mexico, United States. I am working on a new reporting engine which uses an ANTLR parser, which has been a lot of fun.

I look forward to participating in the forum and learning more from everyone here.

3 Likes

welcome, Rob! Do elaborate on the parser if possible

Sure, no problem. The goal of my reporting engine is to generate PDF documents. The language is kind of a cross between HTML/CSS (and various templating languages), LaTeX, Markdown. It uses Python style indentation (mainly so that verbatim code can be included naturally). I’m still working on the parser, which is pretty complicated. Since I’m using ANTLR4, I’m essentially implementing a “pre-parser” to implement the indentation and some other features.

Here is a sample of the syntax:

\# Here is and example with implicit markup:

! Here is a header

!! Here is a subheader

This is a paragraph.

This paragraph has \b{bold}; and \u{underlined}; and \i{italicized}; text.

And here is a bulleted list:

* item
* another item
** and a sub item

And here is a numbered list:

. item
. another item
.. and a sub item

\# Here is equivalent with explicit markup:

\h:\t:Here is a header
\h(level=2):\t:Here is a subheader
\p:\t:This is a paragraph.
\p:
  \t:This paragraph has
  \b:\t:bold
  \t:and
  \u:\t:underlined
  \t:and
  \i:\t:italicized
  \t:text
\p:\t:And here is a bulleted list:
\ul:
  \li:\t:item
  \li:\t:another item
  \ul:
    \li:\t:and a sub item

\p:\t:And here is a numbered list:

\ol:
  \li:\t:item
  \li:\tanother item
  \ol:
    \li:\t:and a sub item
1 Like

I think from a design point of view using the backslash character is a mistake. Firstly it has a very long tradition of being used to enter non-typeable characters, and if you steal the backslash for that purpose you will end up eventually being forced to use some other punctuation mark. So you haven’t gained anything by doing this.