Hi, I'm Luca DS

Hi everyone, I’m Luca De Santis from Italy.
Thanks Federico, thanks all for giving me the opportunity to join this community.

I have more than 20 years of experience in semiconductor design. I’m interested on DSLs as tools for writing software on highly customized processors. I use programming languages that “know about underlying hardware”, so… something more abstract than assembly, but less abstract than C, because in my world hardware constraints and real-time execution are fatal.

I’m also interested in HDLs (hardware description languages) in particular for increasing the level of abstraction in digital systems design without loosing details of hardware signals. At my knowledge, state-of-the-art language in this field is Chisel, a specialized language built on Scala.

Finally, I would like to jump into LLVM toolchain, but I’m having some difficult to start. Since I’m becoming elder, any help on this will be really really appreciated :slight_smile:

You can find me on linkedin and on Quora (https://www.quora.com/q/rnyeivjzxvzplfkj?sort=top).

Thanks
Luca

7 Likes

Hi Luca,

I use LLVM myself for a hobbyist compiler. I’m no expert but you are always welcome to ask me if there’s something you are unsure about :slight_smile:

You may want to check out this online book: Mapping High Level Constructs to LLVM IR.

I wrote it some years ago but now it has a new maintainer, Mike Rodler, who has made a great job of converting my old document into an online book. I know that there are some issues with the examples (check out the list of issues on GitHub), but I think they still serve well as an introduction to LLVM IR.

Cheers,
Mikael Egevig

1 Like

Hi again Luca,

I decided to write a short primer on LLVM. I hope you, and others, can use it for something :slight_smile: If any of you have questions, feel free to ask!

Introduction