Hi, I'm Jurgen Vinju

My name is Jurgen Vinju; I am a professor in Automated Software Analysis and a research group leader of the SoftWare Analysis and Transformation (SWAT) group at CWI in Amsterdam.

TL;DR: I’m a metaprogramming enthusiast who has had the luck of making it my job, and also the luck of meeting many people that are also interested in building tools for software languages. I co-designed, implemented, maintain and support the Rascal metaprogramming language and language workbench. I’m personally recovering from some nasty health surprises; it’s getting better all the time.

Currently I’m most involved with the Rascal metaprogramming language and its associated Language Workbench and its community:

• We do research on it and with in in PL (Programming Languages) and SE (Software Engineering);
  • Also we do quite some teaching (DSLs, Software Construction, Software Evolution);
  • We use it to commercially offer DSL designs and implementations and source code analysis tooling.

All the stuff I work(ed) on is open-source software: Rascal MPL, ASF+SDF Meta-Environment, Eclipse IMP. I’m an early adopter of continuous-integration systems and random specification based testing.

My personal coding experience of the last 20 years involves stuff like this:

• Parsers and disambiguation (generating GLR, SGLR, GLL, DDGLL parsing algorithms from (data-dependent) context-free grammars;
  • Term rewriting (interpreters and compilers for algebraic specification formalisms, functional programming languages, matching and substition in abstract syntax trees)
  • High-fidelity (no loss of indentation and comments) for refactoring tools
  • Generating/instantiating IDEs from language descriptions (editors with syntax highlighting, outlines, type checking and inference)
  • Pretty printers and code formatters
  • Analyzing, refactoring and generating COBOL code, C code, C++ code, Java, PHP, and what not.
  • … and other stuff