Hi, I am Robert Deckers, a method engineer

Hi,
I am Robert. I have been working on and with (formal) methods since 1991. I see languages as a tool to capture the decisions in a (development) process. That is why I am interested in this community.

Developing software is currently a more repetitive task than many developers believe. The trick is to see software development not as the realization of system technology, but as the integration of people’s knowledge. Reuse must focus on the value of important decisions, instead of treating (source) code as the main business asset. I am currently working on my Phd research on a multi domain specification method, where we specify a system in terms of multiple domain models (or DSLs). It includes the specification of domain models, making other models with domain models, and integrate those. Integration includes composition, transformation, and correspondence between specifications.

In my daily work, I fulfill several roles: consultant for architecture issues, teaching architecture, requirements, and domain modeling, and be a personal coach for architects. Besides that, I am helping organizations with developing and maintaining software systems in a faster, more predictable way, by automating development activities. This can be approached bottom-up, starting with the developer, and top-down from the business goals and architecture, and from the development process. So, MDD in all its forms.

5 Likes

I like this description, I think I will quote it in the future

Welcome to the forum!

1 Like

Great to have your input here. Also looking to read about using multiple languages and integrating them. The largest I’m aware of has 24 different languages for different type of users (developers, hw, safety, testing, feature planning etc). Let me know if there is something to read.

1 Like