Hi, I am Fidel!

Hello, everyone!

My name is Fidel and I have been interested in programming language translation ever since I encountered programming back in late 80s, early 90s. However, I have only written my first transpiler in the late 90s, as part of my final year project for my degree in Computer and Information Engineering.

I have been working in all sorts of software (web, desktop and command line), and occasionally I write some DSLs for any particular task we need to automate, and make it easier to work with.

I have implemented a concurrent Pascal (a subset of Pascal-FC) to Java transpiler, as my final year project, and I have written a couple of DSLs for web development, database design, and user interface design.

All my projects are implemented either with SableCC, and occasionally Gentle-97. In addition, I write some SNOBOL4 scripts once in a while, but I am not an expert in the language. I find it easy to put together quick text processors and sometimes even parsers.

At the moment I am working on a VimScript to Lua transpiler (recursive descent), and have joined the Modula-2 Software Foundation to work on a Modula-2 Revision 2010 compiler project.

I joined this community because I am very passionate about compiler engineering, language design and text processing in general.

I look forward to drinking from your experiences, and whenever possible share my own.

Thanks once again for the warm welcome.

Regards,

Fidel H Viegas

3 Likes

Hi Fidel,
I listened with interest to your speech at the videoconference 06/12/22, and also got acquainted with your website Geekstakulus Blog.