Hello, I'm Thomas

Hello everyone,

As tradition states and politeness demands, here is a not-so-short introductive message :slight_smile:

My name is Thomas Villaren and I’m really glad I found this community as I’ve been looking for an online gathering of DSL-knowledgeable people for quite some time now!

Indeed, I’ve been working with Model-Driven Engineering for almost ten years now (I did my PhD on topics adjacent to Model-Based User Interface domain a.k.a. MBUI) and really discovered this world and more specifically Language Workbenches and DSLs 7 years ago, at the Code Generation Conference in Cambridge, where I met some people I’m happy to see here.

Until last year, I worked for almost 7 years on a low-code platform called Generative Objects, which we actually used as a Language Workbench for the Language Workbench Challenge that year (in a bit of a naive way if I remember well :innocent:).

Of interest to this community, I can say that in the Generative Objects platform, we implemented a DSL for Business Rules definition, using ANTLR. For these numerous years working on this platform, I’ve tried to implement the best practices in MDE, specifically in MBUI, based on the CAMELEON framework.

I have been wondering for all those years if other low-code platforms were actually building their architecture following these standards as well: I find there is a gap between the MDE / DSL community, with little visibility and adhesion from the public and the low-code community, which tends to be more and more “trendy” but often put business & marketing messages first rather, and make it difficult to know what is really happening behind.
I apply this criticism to myself as we never really communicated on the technology and architecture behind Generative Objects. But this might change soon, as the project is planned to go open source and serve a community.